Author Topic: My Story  (Read 717 times)

Rishi

My Story
« on: May 26, 2010, 07:52:51 AM »
Greetings!

I am new to AYP forum and first of all wanted to thank Yogani and all other contributors for their thoughtful advice and comments. Though this is my first post in the form, I have been tracking the postings for some time and several of my questions were answered just by browsing through past postings.

I introduced AYP practices (about four months ago) to the basic astanga yoga practice I have been following for last two years. Based on the results I am experiencing , I believe that the AYP practices have enhanced my experiences.  I wanted to start with sharing my experiences – will also appreciate comments and pointers.

My old practice included twice a day one hour sessions.  15 minute a set asanas for balanced stretching and warmup followed by 30 min pranayam  primarily  Bastrika, Kapalbhati, Anulom Vilom and Jalandhar, Mool and Uddyan Bhandhas. This was followed by 15 min of silent meditation using pranav mantra OM.

About four months ago , I integrated  AYP practices to my sessions. I replaced bastrika with spinal breathing , increased the duration of meditation to 20 mins and added Samayama practice. Last month, I  introduced  the Cosmic Samayama practice a few days a week.

During this period, I had started experiencing a sensation in my Ajna Chakra. I was able to activate the pleasant calming sensation  at any time of the day by doing a mool bhandh – it was almost like like lighting a candle on the forehead using a lighter in a different part of my anatomy [:)]