Author Topic: Requesting Advice  (Read 817 times)

Nigel333

Requesting Advice
« on: October 03, 2008, 07:36:30 AM »
Hi,

I'm in need of some advice. (great forum btw, have been reading helpful and interesting posts for a few hours now)

I'm a complete yoga beginner, so if I say or ask something stupid, please forgive me.[:D]

I do have some experience in meditation though. I meditate each day before going to bed.

I always avoided yoga, I don't know why.  Guess I associated Yoga mostly with Hatha Yoga and with fighting with oneself.

To be honest, at that time, when I actually did read something about Yoga and possible energy releases, I though it was a bit of bull. I know better now.

I started doing Pranayama after buying "the little book of yoga breathing". I tried a lot of exercises in a short time, and needless to say that I had some negative experiences.

I decided to back off a little and only do Anulom Vilom Pranayama twice a day for 3 minutes, followed by a short meditation. This was about one and a half week ago.  This seemed to settle in ok, but since -in the mean time- I also ordered "Spinal Breathing Pranayama" from Yogani, I implemented this in my practice also. (within a week)  

The first days this was actually very pleasant. I felt very energetic and the cold outside had less effect on me.

The last days however, were not very comfortable. I felt very agitated and had some pretty scary schizophrenic thoughts.

So I cut down the pranayama time to just a few minutes and meditation a little longer.

Basically I´m looking for practice advice. I´d like to do both Anulom Vilom and Spinal Breathing followed by a meditation twice per day. Later on I´d like to add Kapal Bhati Pranayama too.

I know it´s best to alter the practice based on your own experiences, but would like to know how you would go about building a practice from meditation-only to the one described above.

I find it also difficult to know when to increase the practice-time.