Author Topic: Threw out back right before DM  (Read 880 times)

robfrommi

Threw out back right before DM
« on: November 19, 2012, 12:47:56 AM »
I wanted to ask a question about the lower spine and Deep meditation and Spinal breathing pranayama. I have been doing DM for 3 months for 20 mins and doing 2 minutes SBP for a month or so (I  back off the SBP if my energy is getting to wild).

So about 5 years ago I was doing self realization fellowship Meditation( Parmahansas home study ) for about 3 -4 months. to get to the point it was morning and I went to start my meditation and I twisted my back a little and completely threw out my back. I couldn't move for a few days.

It seems like the perfect storm hit again. A few days ago a stomach flu hit everyone in my family(it was bad) so I skipped a day of DM and SBP and the next day after getting better I did 20 min DM and that night started back up doing my regular practice. After my session I ate a big dinner ( got my appetite back) but it kept me up all night and this morning the same thing happened I bent down to go into my meditation room and threw out my back.

It just seems weird that the same thing happened like it did before. last time I gave up on spiritual practice for a 5 years and I don't plan on doing this.  Does this mean something? the only time i have ever hurt my back is right before a morning practice and normally I have a good back and lift and pick up stuff all day (work and 3 kids!) The pain is right on the spine in the lower part of my back. Thanks for listening.

whippoorwill

« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 02:42:33 AM »
Hi robfrommi: