Author Topic: Shaktipat  (Read 4331 times)

Etherfish

• http://www.myspace.com/electromar
Shaktipat
« Reply #30 on: August 14, 2011, 11:22:52 PM »
They discuss all the different kinds of shaktipat, not just one. It means transferring spiritual energy from one person to another. It can be through a look, a thought, a touch, giving of an object, or as simple as a phone call.
It doesn't belong to just one lineage or religion; it is used all over the world by all cultures.

kannada

• http://www.the-initiate.com
Shaktipat
« Reply #31 on: August 15, 2011, 08:23:19 PM »
Hi Etherfish,
I have no knowledge of the so called 'shaktipat diksha' of other traditions, I only know my own and use it to effect. The shaktipat I use is one initiation that lasts a lifetime and beyond. Although for lapsed practitioners there may be boosters, but it is the same initiation, simply repeated in order to get initiates to continue where they left off. Once initiated the candidate undergoes a multitude of autonomous experiences. These experiences purify the nadis and bring the energies into balance so that samadhi is secured.

I know of no other tradition that manifests the same responses in the candidate as the one I use (though I have no formal link to this tradition other than initiation). This is not to say that they do not exist but I do not know of them. I know of the dikshas in Hinduism, but they are formal initiations into the various stages of spiritual pursuit but they are not shaktipat diksha and do not produce the results that I am familiar with.

In my communications with other 'recipients' of shaktipat diksha from other modalities I have drawn the tentative conclusion that they are referring merely to forms of energy transfer in order to boost energy levels for a particular purpose. They do not seem to me to have any relation to the shaktipat diksha I am aware of.