Author Topic: Finally found the correct sequence for practice  (Read 787 times)

MWrigs

Finally found the correct sequence for practice
« on: December 13, 2008, 12:06:18 PM »
Hi everyone,

I am new to posting but have been reading the forum for about 2 years.  I finally found the right conbination of hatha yoga and AYP practices. For the last 2 years I have been trying to practice Astanga Vinyasa yoga  and the I AM meditation.  I have been practicing Ashtanga yoga for about 10 years and then found AYP website . I would quit doing Ashtanga and meditate two times a day for 20 mins. for about 2 weeks and then I would have to quit the meditation because I would get bad feeling of dread and  
depression.  I would go back to Ashtanga again and feel fine in about 2 weeks.  I went back and forth with this cycle for 1 year and a half.  Then about 6 months ago I did my Ashtanga yoga practice and I decided to do the I AM meditation right after.  I felt really good after this sequence of yoga practices.  I didn't do a second meditation that day.  I have been practicing in this manner for about 6 months without and bad reactions in fact my meditations are getting deeper and deeper every day.  I am writing this to find out if anyone else has found this combination helpful.  I have two questions though?  When I am deep in my meditation and it is time to stop I find myself all slumped over.  How do you keep your back straight when you go so deep in your meditation you don't know where you are ? Second question, If I have just done one and a half hours of ashtanga yoga with all that deep breathing do I need to do the Spinal breathing or will that be too much ?

tadeas

« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 05:49:52 AM »
Hi and welcome :)

For about a year and a half I practiced this combination of AYP and ashtanga vinyasa, although it was in combination with full ayp routine (twice a day).