Author Topic: Yo-yoing?  (Read 920 times)

Lacinato

Yo-yoing?
« on: November 13, 2008, 02:16:23 PM »
I got the AYP book a while ago--maybe a year or so ago. I started practicing faithfully at the beginning of September with the pranayama (since I had been practicing un-faithfully), in the sitting position (this came automatically). I noticed something a few months before I started faithful AYP. One, was that if I relaxed completely, my body would often start with automatic yoga movements--VERY rapid movements of the head or belly or pelvis. This was before any regular meditation. It's not a seizure because I can choose not to do it. But it is there, all this energy that wants to get out.

Then I started AYP because I felt stuck, and mildly depressed for the first time in my life. I have never been prone to depression, or mood swings--now I realize I have used my mind to numb myself of my feelings (most likely from past life karma). So I was eager to move quickly and feel more normal, more like myself. It was like Tolle says, sometimes it can be good when someone has a heavy pain body, because they get tired of it, and inspired to cast if off.

So now I am doing this, and getting the strong urge for automatic yoga. At the same time, I have had times where my nervous system feels burnt out, or I feel too light and floaty (this isn't enjoyable either)... so I back off. But at the same time, my nervous system has all this energy it wants to expel, and it makes me feel weighed down with stuck emotion. My appetite is also mirroring this--I develop a huge appetite and then feel numbed, then I feel floaty so I want to eat more to ground myself.